Honorary & Distinguished Alumni Awards



Bishop Benjamin Wistar Morris Distinguished Alumni Award

In 1991, the Bishop Benjamin Wistar Morris Distinguished Alumni Award was created to recognize alumni of Oregon Episcopal School, St. Helens Hall, Bishop Dagwell Hall, and St. Helens Hall Junior College. Through their commitment and service, these alumni have achieved significant successes in their professional careers and/or have made outstanding contributions in community involvement, thereby bringing honor to themselves and to the School.

Distinguished Alumni

Past Recipients

2019 Benjamin Westlund, BDH '68

2013 Honoring all alumni veterans

2007 Patricia Kelley, SHH '55

2004 Kris Van Hatcher, BDH ' 70

2003 Virginia Euwer Wolff, SHH '55

2002 Holly Pittman, SHH '66

2001 Robin Hail Karr-Morse, SHH '63

2000 Eleanor Poorman Hamilton, SHH '26

1998 Sally Reed Stout, SHH ' 30

1997 Patricia Kendall Apperson, JC '48

1996 Beatrice Thurston, SHH ' 15

1995 Paul Schlesinger, BDH ' 70

1994 Elizabeth Johnson, SHH ' 69

1993 June Dunbar Phillips, SHH ' 51

1992 Ruth Jenkins, SHH ' 20

1991 Muriel Gabriel Heltzel, SHH ' 30

Honorary Alumni Award

The Honorary Alumna/us is a person who has shown extraordinary commitment and loyalty to Oregon Episcopal School through their service and time.

Honorary Alumni

Past Recipients

1987 Grace Ball, Past Parent

1988 Phyllis Carman, widow of Bishop James Carman

1989 Alyce Cheatham, Past Parent, Grandparent

1990 Mary Reynolds, Former Trustee, Past Parent, Grandparent

1991 Cornelia Stevens, Former Board President, Past Parent, Grandparent

1992 Eleanor Fass, Former Head of Middle School and Faculty member

1993 Helga Daret, Former Head of Middle School, Physical Education teacher and coach

1994 Cynthia Doran, Former US Faculty and College Counselor

1995 Pamela Vohnson, Former Head of Upper School Language Department and French Faculty

1996 Sue Jensen, Upper School Art Faculty

1997 David Streight, former Upper School Faculty

2001 Sister Margaret Helena, St. Helen's Hall administrator, housemother, and teacher 1934-1944

2002 Betty Wright, Former Lower School Head

2003 Bill Lamb, Former Upper School Faculty

2004 Elisabeth Lyon, Former Board President

2008 Jack O'Brien, Former Upper School Faculty, Chair of Performing and Fine Arts

2009 The Rev. Lou Ann Pickering, Former Head Chaplain

2011 Lou Paff and Sue Larson, Former Lower School Faculty

2014 Gary Crossman, Former Upper School Faculty

2015 Jon von Behren, Director of Facilities and Past Parent