Board of Trustees Information

Oregon Episcopal School is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization as defined by the Internal Revenue Service. It is governed by a voluntary Board of Trustees. The Board includes members nominated by the Board's Committee on Governance and appointed by the Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Oregon, as well as members elected by the Standing Committee of the Episcopal Diocese of Oregon. Advisors, non-voting members of the Board include the Head of School, the Chair of Parent Community Link, the President of the Alumni Council, and the Chair of the Endowment Investment Committee. Trustees are elected for three-year terms and may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

The Board of Trustees is charged with managing the affairs of the School and has a number of specific responsibilities. Among them are determining the School's mission and policies, setting strategic direction, hiring the Head of School, supporting the Head of School and reviewing his or her performance, ensuring effective organizational planning, ensuring adequate financial resources, determining and monitoring the School's programs and services, enhancing the School's public image, and assessing its own performance.

There are six standing committees: Board Operations, Governance, Finance, Advancement, Endowment Investment, and Mt. Hood Climb Observance. From time to time, the Board may establish other committees or task forces it deems appropriate and helpful to the proper discharge of its duties. Members of the committees and the number of members of each committee are designated by the President, and generally include persons who are not trustees.

The Board of Trustees must meet at least five times each year. The Board meets 5 times throughout the school year. Board meetings are open to interested parties and meeting minutes are posted on the OES website. A complete listing of Board members can be found in The OES Directory and on this website.

Finance at OES

The Annual Budget is set by the Board of Trustees upon recommendation of the Finance Committee. The CFO administers the School’s financial affairs under the direction of the Head of School and in accordance with policies established by the Board of Trustees.